top of page

Ultimate Packing List for Living Abroad - 6 months +



​I still remember when I was in Brazil looking for information on what to pack in a luggage to live for 6 months or more! To be honest it's a bit tough to think in all possibilities of weather, events, work, studies and everything you will experience in this new place. Maybe your habits will change and everything will be different! So, I will share my own experiences and hope its help you to make your decisions!

I tried to think in my new routine, about my plans and goals for the period and I researched about its weather to see what to expect for and this helped to plan. So, even if you checked my suggestion, it's better if you start to write a bit your future plans. This could help you to think about what you're going to use or not. It's just an idea. I know we have so many stuff that we want to bring or we think it's important, but to pack we really need the essentials and we have to prioritise.

Why not start to separate in clusters to make it easier to find the best way to start your packing. Planning before always!

1. Clothing

2. Footwear

3. Toiletries

4. Extras - Acessories and make up

5. Eletronics

6. Documents

7. Checklist

Let's do it!

1. Clothing

Depending on the weather it can change everything, but I believe this can help in any way.

- Trousers and jeans - 1 denim and 1 black + plus black legging.

- 2 Dresses (1 basic black) and 2 skirts (1 basic black) to suit your style.

- T-shirts - 4 different, including 1 white basic

- 1 basic shirt great for different events.

- Underwear– To cover 2 weeks before you need to wash, plus socks and quality bras in black, white, and beige.

- Thermal clothing for winter destinations– Thermal roll neck top and legging will make any outfit warm

- Bikini and travel micro towel– For pool dipping, beaches, saunas etc

- Fitness gears- sports bra and fitness pants.

- Quality dark jacket (black or blue) and sweaters

- Raincoat

2. Footwear

- 1 sport tennis shoes

- 1 casual basic tennis shoes

- 1 flip flop or light sandals

- 1 comfot high heels (neutral colour)

- 1 feminine slipper

3. Toiletries

I recommend bringing what you use for personal hygiene for the first few weeks and then buy it on the local pharmacy or market.

- Toothbrush

- Toothpaste

- Floss

- Mouthwash

- Hair brush

- Deodorant

- Shampoo

- Conditioner

- Cotton pads

- Micelar water

- Facial wipes

- Nail care

- Sunscreen and face lotion with SPF

4. Extras

- Accessories as belts, scarfs, jewellery (remember less is more practicatily)

- Hair ties

- Eyeglasses and lenses (products to cleanse if needed)

- Sunglasses

- Make up

- Family and friends photos

- Bed clothes and towel.

5. Electronics

- Laptop

- Camera photographic

- Go pro

- Tripod

- Earphone

- Mobile

- Chargers and cables

- Adapter (your can buy locally or research an universal chargers, maybe amazon?)

6. Documents

- Passport

- Visa

- ID

- Drivers license

- International certificate of vaccination

- Other documents that I brought: Studies certificates and some Brazilian documents to reapply my other visas.

7. Checklist

It's very important to have a checklist printed with all your items to confirm if it's everything packed before you go to the airpoirt. I remember that I forgot my International Certificate of Vaccination in my parents house and I was reviewing my checklist before going to the Airport and found out that I missed my document. I had to urgently send someone to pickup and delivery in another city. So always checking out guys!

Bon Voyage! 😎

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page